General information about UV radiation and its generation

Ultraviolet radiation has assumed an important place in our everyday lives – even if this often happens in the background and is not obvious at first glance.

For example, drinking water in many countries tastes strongly of chlorine and smells as pungent as it is unpleasant – but why is this not the case everywhere?

The solution lies, for example, in municipal drinking water disinfection using ultraviolet, which has become widely used. In the private sector as well as in industry and medicine, ultraviolet technology is on the road to success and is used as a recognized, cost-effective and reliable method.

The answers to the “Where / How / Why” can be found on this page.

Physical basics

What is UV radiation?
Ultraviolet radiation is electromagnetic waves with a wavelength of 100 to 380 nm or a frequency of over 789 THz. The energy of a single light quantum is about 3.26 eV. Ultraviolet radiation is not visible.

It belongs to the group of optical wavelengths, which is why the term “UV light” is often used, which is not quite correct. UV radiation can be refracted, reflected, diffracted and absorbed like light of other wavelengths or infrared radiation – however, the reflection behaviour with regard to the choice of material for the reflector cannot be compared with that of the visible range. Ultraviolet radiation can be made indirectly visible by luminescence excitation (see analytical instruments / Wood Light).

What does UV-A, UV-B and UV-C mean and what is the difference?
Ultraviolet radiation was divided into several groups. These groups have different biological effects and technical applications. The following diagram shows in which range of the electromagnetic spectrum UV radiation is found. The entire UV range is defined as 400 – 10 nm. Here, the energy of the light quanta is inversely proportional to the wavelength (the shorter the wavelength, the more energetic the radiation).

 

Range Wavelength Biological effect Technical use
UVA 315-380nm immediate, short tanning; skin aging and wrinkles, practically no erythema (sunburn causing) effect Tanning, photochemical reactions, luminescence, ink curing, lacquer drying, light therapy, forensics, effect light, …
UVB 280-315nm long-term tanning; formation of a protective layer on the skin; penetrates into deeper skin layers, high risk of skin cancer, has a strong erythema effect -> sunburn light therapy / starts tanning, photochemical reactions, luminescence, hardening of printing inks, drying of lacquers, …
UVC 280-100nm very short wavelength, does not reach the earth’s surface, absorption by the uppermost air layers of the earth’s atmosphere Has a very strong decontaminating effect. Very strong erythemal effect physical disinfection technology, photochemical reactions, luminescence, …
VUV (Vakuum UV oder Deep-UV) 200-150nm very short-wave, ozone-forming by dissociation of atmospheric oxygen from O² to O³ (ozone). Only measurable in vacuum. In nitrogen environment (<15 ppm oxygen content) measurable up to 150 nm surface cleaning, photooxidation, surface activation, ozone generation, …

 

Trip into history

Who discovered UV radiation?
As early as 1878 two researchers (A. Downes & T. P. Blunt) discovered the causal relationship between UV radiation and the growth of microorganisms. The aim was to prove that micro-organisms do not multiply without solar radiation. A long time later it was found that short-wave UV radiation in the UV-C range has a decontaminating effect. In the 1960s, with the decoding and research of DNA, this was only fully understood.

Who produced the first UV radiation source?

Richard Küch was the first person to melt quartz glass, the basis for UV radiation sources, in 1890 and founded the “Heraeus Quarzschmelze”. He developed the first quartz lamp in 1904, laying the foundation for the lamp technology that is still used today. The first quartz lamp, whose UV light yield almost corresponded to the spectrum of the sun, was created under the roof of the then “Original Hanau”.

With the development of low-pressure mercury vapour radiation sources, it was possible, for example, to artificially produce UV-C radiation with a disinfection effect. In the course of time, more and more applications for the technically generated UV radiation were discovered and made industrially usable. As a result, new applications are still being found and brought to market maturity year after year.

We accompany you on this way with competence and expertise.

Disinfection - one of the essential UV applications

Why disinfects ultraviolet?
All microorganisms contain, among other things, nucleic acid (the DNA and RNA), which contains the genetic information of the cell. Because the nucleic acids absorb the incident radiation energy, a photochemical process is triggered which damages the reproduction apparatus of microorganisms and inactivates germs. This takes place, among other things, via a frequently occurring “dimer bond” of the thymine building blocks. This happens in a fraction of a second..

 

No resistance against UV possible!

Popularly said: bacteria, viruses, yeast and moulds have no chance against ultraviolet. Because additional resistance cannot be acquired according to scientific knowledge. Most pathogenic germs are even particularly sensitive to UV rays. This is an important advantage of physical disinfection, as it also works, for example, when germs have already acquired resistance to conventional disinfection measures (alcohol, antibiotics, etc.). At this point we would like to point out the MRSA problem, with which many medical facilities have reached the limits of the disinfection and prevention measures practiced so far.

This circumstance of physical disinfection works for all microorganisms, no matter whether it is about frequently occurring E.Coli bacteria, vecal germs, TBC, SARS, anthrax or legionella. However, a sufficient UV dose is essential – and requires appropriate equipment development.

 

No confusion with gamma- and X-rays
As invisible radiation, sunlight also contains ultraviolet and this, like visible light, only works on the surface. Therefore it is also called “soft” radiation. In contrast, there are many short-wave emitters (below 100 nm), such as “hard” X-rays and gamma rays. “Hard” because they can penetrate solid matter and cause severe damage to the human organism. This is impossible with ultraviolet. For this reason there can be no confusion or comparison.

What is the UV dose or irradiation dose?

Every UV radiation source has an electrical power consumption, part of which is emitted in the UV-C range. 90% of the radiation emitted in the UV-C range is generated at 254 nm, the wavelength effective for disinfection. This is called radiation power. The radiant power is therefore the energy emitted per unit time by the radiator.

The irradiance or also called intensity (µW or mW) is the radiated power per unit area (cm²). Decisive for its level is the optimal utilization of the radiator installed in the device as well as the distance to the item to be sterilized.

If the irradiance/intensity is multiplied by time (s), the UV dose/irradiation dose is: UV dose (mWs/cm²) = intensity (mW/cm²) x time (s)

The higher the radiation power and the longer the irradiation time, the greater the disinfecting effect.

What's the lethal dose?

For almost all microorganisms, the “lethal dose” of UV-C radiation is known, from which the cell loses its reproductive property, is inactivated and no self-repair mechanisms can be activated. Due to the cell structure, the lethal dose varies. Pathogenic germs and yeasts are extremely sensitive to UV-C. Some mould spores require a higher UV dose. If necessary, this must be taken into account in the design.

The basis of UV disinfection is the design of the disinfection device or the selection of a suitable radiation source. At the end of the lamp’s service life, a sufficiently high UV dose must be available to ensure an appropriate disinfection performance within the defined irradiation time. The lethal dose varies depending on the micro-organism and cell structure / cell type. Pathogenic germs are very sensitive to UV-C and are inactivated very quickly. Mould spores require a higher UV dose. In practice, e.g. sealing films for yoghurt pots achieve a germ reduction of 99.5 % to 99.9 % within 2 seconds (see Fraunhofer test report for BlueLight modules).

Safety instructions for handling UV radiation

UV radiation is highly effective and requires simple and uncomplicated measures for personal protection. As simple and uncomplicated as these are, it is important to comply with them. We will be happy to explain in detail whether and which measures are necessary for your application or construction.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

 
Description Information
UV radiation UV radiation is dangerous for eyes and skin. UV radiation sources may therefore only be operated under appropriate personal protection measures. This does not apply if the equipment is in closed units from which no UV radiation can escape (water disinfection systems, air disinfection systems based on circulating air, etc.).
Protection against UV UV radiation at 254 nm (UV-C) can be shielded by normal window glass (borosilicate, Duran, etc.), transparent plastics such as Makrolon®, Plexiglas® and practically all opaque materials. In order to reduce the possible disturbing glare effect, the use of coloured material is recommended. Further information on UV filters can be found in the standard “EN 170 – Personal eye protection”. Quartz glass is permeable to UV-C radiation and must not be used as protective glass for personal protection.
Installation / Operation Alternating circuits, information signs or forced shut-offs are to be installed at the responsibility and discretion of the operator. If individual components are put into operation for integration into systems and devices or sample deliveries, the operator is responsible for observing the relevant electrical engineering regulations. Only instructed specialists with appropriate training should commission the components.
Material resistance Objects can become discoloured after long and intensive exposure to UV radiation. We recommend the use of UV-resistant materials. When using ozone-generating radiation sources, please note that ozone has a strong oxidative effect.
Ozone generation When using ozone-generating UV radiation sources, the MAK value (MAK = maximum workplace concentration) of 0.1 ppm must be observed. For experimental setups, it is recommended to use a suitable area with air extraction.
Temperature Low pressure lamps have a fluorescent tube temperature of approx. 40°C during operation, similar to a fluorescent lamp in lighting technology. UV radiation sources with indium amalgam doping become approx. 90°C-100°C hot on the surface of the fluorescent tube (medium pressure sources approx. 850°C-950°C). These radiation sources are to be regarded as potential ignition sources in contact with highly flammable substances. Furthermore, the radiation source must cool down sufficiently before it is touched. To ensure that the radiation source ignites after switching off, radiators doped with indium amalgam should cool down for about 2-5 minutes (medium pressure radiators about 5-15 minutes). Cooling of simple low-pressure lamps is not necessary.

 

Application overview

Area of application        Example applications
UV curing
(of solvent-free paints, varnishes, adhesives and sealing compounds)
  • furniture industry (chairs, tables, kitchen cabinets), door production, ski production
  • Printing industry (especially offset and screen printing, but also all other printing processes):
    z. e.g., magazines, labels, packaging printing
  • Printing of banknotes
  • Production of CD and DVD (protective coating and gluing of the DVD, printing)
  • Electrical industry: e.g. printed circuit board production
  • Circuit board assembly (adhesive curing)
  • Repair of stone chips in car windows (hardening of synthetic resin)
UV disinfection
(of air, water and surfaces)
  • Drinking water: e.g. breweries, beverage producers, drinking water disinfection in households, pensions and hotels, municipal drinking water treatment
  • Process water: cooling water circuits, process water circuits, deep well extraction, algae control of fish ponds
  • Wastewater: Wastewater disinfection in sewage treatment plants
  • Air disinfection: (in hospitals, control measurements to reduce infections caused by airborne transmission of bacterial pathogens within inhabited areas)
  • Sterilisation of packaging materials before filling (e.g. yoghurt pots, sealing films, in the medical industry)
  • Insect traps
  • Product locks in the medical technology and food industry
UV-assisted oxidation
(of organic pollutants in air and water)
  • decomposition of C-H compounds into basic components, then formation of H2O + CO2 + salts with ozone)
  • contaminated groundwater (petrol stations, soil remediation of military areas, ammunition factories, coal refining, gas works)
  • Landfill leachate (with ozone)
  • polluted industrial waste water (metal working and processing industry, dyestuffs of the textile finishing industry, cosmetics industry, pharmaceutical industry, chemical industry, etc.)
  • industry, electrical industry, coal refining, ammunition factories, car wash plants, nuclear power stations, paper/pulp production, leather industry, laundries)
  • Odour elimination
Sun simulation
(for artificial ageing of materials for safety and aesthetic reasons)
  • controlled wood aging (violin and guitar making, furniture industry)
  • Test of windscreens of motor vehicles and aircraft
  • Investigation of the degradation effect of building materials
  • Testing of plastics in the automotive industry and for many other applications
  • oxidative degradation of plant protection products
  • Conversion of various ecologically questionable water and wastewater substances into ecologically safe and biodegradable substances
Preperative photochemistry
  • Production of detergent base materials, artificial fragrances, etc.
  • Vitamin D Synthesis
  • Polymerisations
  • Photobromination
  • Photochlorination
  • Photooxidation
UV analytics  
Ozone production
  • Surface modification of plastics and rubber products (increase of surface tension or condition
  • Waste water and exhaust air treatment
  • Fat reduction in kitchen exhaust systems
  • Odour elimination / deodorization
Medical application / light therapy
  • Treatment of vitamin D3 deficiency symptoms
  • Treatment of psoriasis (psoriasis)
  • Treatment of jaundice in infants
  • Identification of cancer cells in internal organs
  • Cosmetic tanning
Luminescence excitation
  • Authentication of banknotes and stamps
  • Applications in mail sorting machines
  • Effect lighting
  • Quality control (hairline cracks can be made visible with black light, e.g. in aircraft chassis, automatic steering systems)
  • forensic sciences (search for important evidence at the crime scene, search for causes of fire)
  • in auction houses (checking works of art for authenticity)
  • Biotechnology
  • Geology (testing of phosphorescence and fluorescence)

Allgemeines über UV-Strahlung und deren Erzeugung

Ultraviolett-Strahlung hat einen wichtigen Platz in unserem alltäglichen Leben eingenommen – auch wenn dies oftmals im Hintergrund geschieht und nicht auf den ersten Blick offensichtlich ist.

Beispielsweise schmeckt das Trinkwasser in vielen Ländern stark nach Chlor und riecht ebenso stechend wie unangenehm – doch warum ist das nicht überall so?

Die Lösung liegt beispielsweise in der kommunalen Trinkwasserentkeimung mittels Ultraviolett, welche weit verbreitet Einzug gehalten hat. Im privaten Bereich sowie in Industrie und Medizin ist die Ultraviolett Technik auf dem Erfolgskurs und wird als anerkanntes, kostengünstiges und zuverlässiges Verfahren eingesetzt.

Die Antworten auf das “Wo / Wie / Weshalb” finden Sie auf dieser Seite.

Physikalische Grundlagen

Was ist UV-Strahlung?
Ultraviolettstrahlung sind elektromagnetische Wellen der Wellenlänge von 100 bis 380 nm oder einer Frequenz von über 789 THz. Die Energie eines einzelnen Lichtquants beträgt etwa 3,26 eV. Ultraviolettstrahlung ist nicht sichtbar.

Sie zählt zur Gruppe der optischen Wellenlängen, weshalb häufig der Begriff “UV-Licht” anzutreffen ist, welcher genau genommen nicht ganz korrekt ist. UV-Strahlung kann wie das Licht anderer Wellenlängen oder der Infrarot-Strahlung gebrochen, reflektiert, gebeugt und absorbiert werden – allerdings ist das Reflexionsverhalten in Bezug auf die Materialwahl des Reflektors nicht mit dem des sichtbaren Bereich zu vergleichen. Durch die Lumineszenzanregung (s. Analysengeräte / Wood Light) kann Ultraviolettstrahlung indirekt sichtbar gemacht werden.

Was bedeutet UV-A, UV-B und UV-C und worin liegt der Unterschied?
Ultraviolettstrahlung wurde in mehrere Gruppen unterteilt. Diese Gruppen haben unterschiedliche biologische Wirkungen und technische Einsatzbereiche. Nachfolgendes Diagramm zeigt, in welchem Bereich des elektromagnetischen Spektrums die UV-Strahlung zu finden ist. Der gesamte UV-Bereich wird definiert von 400 – 10 nm. Dabei ist die Energie der Lichtquanten umgekehrt proportional zur Wellenlänge (je kürzer die Wellenlänge, desto energiereicher die Strahlung).

 

Bereich Wellenlänge Biologische Wirkung Technischer Einsatz
UVA 315-380nm sofortige, kurze Bräunung; Hautalterung und Faltenbildung, praktisch keine erytheme (Sonnenbrand erzeugende) Wirkung Bräunung, photochemische Reaktionen, Lumineszenz, Druckfarbenhärtung, Lacktrocknung, Lichttherapie, Forensik, Effektlicht, …
UVB 280-315nm langfristige Bräunung; Bildung einer Schutzschicht auf der Haut; dringt in tiefere Hautschichten vor, hohes Hautkrebsrisiko, hat einen stark erythemen Effekt -> Sonnenbrand Lichttherapie / begingt zur Bräunung, photochemische Reaktionen, Lumineszenz, Druckfarbenhärtung, Lacktrockung, …
UVC 280-100nm sehr kurzwellig, gelangt nicht bis zur Erdoberfläche, Absorption durch die obersten Luftschichten der Erdatmosphäre. Wirkt sehr stark dekontaminierend. Sehr starker erythemer Effekt Physikalische Entkeimungstechnik, photochemische Reaktionen, Lumineszenz, …
VUV (Vakuum UV oder Deep-UV) 200-150nm sehr kurzwellig, ozonbildend durch Disozziation des Luftsauerstoffs von O² zu O³ (Ozon). Messbar nur im Vakuum. Bei Stickstoffumgebung (<15 ppm Sauerstoffgehalt) bis 150 nm messbar Oberflächenreinigung, Photooxidation, Oberflächenaktivierung, Ozonerzeugung, …

 

Ausflug in die Geschichte

Wer hat die UV-Strahlung entdeckt?
Bereits 1878 haben zwei Forscher (A. Downes & T. P. Blunt) den ursächlichen Zusammenhang zwichen UV-Strahlung und Wachstum von Mirkoorganismen entdeckt. Hierbei ging es um den Nachweis, daß sich Mikroorganismen ohne Sonneneinstrahlung nicht vermehren. Lange Zeit später wurde herausgefunden, daß kurzwellige UV-Strahlung im UV-C Bereich eine dekontaminierende Wirkung aufweist. In den 60er Jahren wurde mit der Entschlüsselung und Erforschung der DNS dies erst vollständig verstanden.

Wer hat die erste UV-Strahlenquelle hergestellt?
Richard Küch war 1890 erstmals in der Lage Quarzglas zu schmelzen, die Grundlage für UV-Strahlenquellen, und gründete die “Heraeus Quarzschmelze”. Er entwickelte die erste Quarzlampe im Jahre 1904 und legte damit die Grundlage für die Lampentechnologie, die bis heute Ihre Anwendung findet. Es entstand unter dem Dach der damaligen “Original Hanau” die erste Quarzlampe, deren UV-Lichtausbeute fast dem Spektrum der Sonne entsprach.

Mit der Entwicklung von Quecksilberdampf-Niederdruckstrahlenquellen war es möglich, beispielweise die entkeimungswirksame UV-C Strahlung künstlich herzustellen. Im Laufe der Zeit wurden mehr und mehr Anwendung für die technisch erzeugte UV-Strahlung entdeckt und industiell nutzbar gemacht. So kommt es, daß heute noch Jahr für Jahr neue Anwendungen gefunden und zur Marktreife gebracht werden.

Wir begleiten Sie auf diesem Weg mit Kompetenz und Sachverstand.

Entkeimung - eine der wesentlichen UV-Anwendungen

Warum desinfiziert Ultraviolett?
Alle Mikroorganismen enthalten unter anderem Nukleinsäure (die DNS und RNS) in der die Erbinformationen der Zelle enthalten sind. Weil die Nukleinsäuren die auftreffende Strahlungsenergie absorbieren, wird ein fotochemischer Prozess ausgelöst, der den Vermehrungsapparat von Mikroorganismen schädigt und Keime inaktiviert. Dies erfolgt u.a über eine häufig vorkommende “Dimerbindung” der Thymin-Bausteine. Dies geschieht in Sekundenbruchteilen.

 

Keine Resistenz gegen UV möglich!

Populär gesagt: Bakterien, Viren, Hefe- und Schimmelpilze haben keine Chance gegen Ultraviolett. Denn zusätzliche Resistenz kann nach wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen nicht erworben werden. Die meisten pathogenen Keime sind gegenüber UV-Strahlen sogar besonders empfindlich. Ein wichtiger Vorzug der physikalischen Desinfektion, da diese zum Beispiel auch dann funktioniert, wenn Keime bereits eine Resistenzbildung gegen konventionelle Desinfektionsmaßnahmen (Alkohol, Antibiotika, …) erworben haben. An dieser Stelle sei auf die MRSA Problematik hingewiesen, mit denen viele medizinische Einrichtungen an die Grenze der bisher praktizierten Entkeimung und Prävention angekommen sind.

Dieser Umstand der physikalischen Entkeimung funktioniert bei allen Mikroorganismen, egal ob es dabei um häufig auftretende E.Coli Bakterien, Väkalkeime, TBC, SARS, Anthrax oder Legionellen geht. Eine ausreichende UV-Dosis ist allerdings wesentliche Grundlage – und setzt eine entsprechende Geräteentwicklung voraus.

Keine Verwechslung mit Gamma- und Röntgenstrahlen
Als unsichtbare Strahlung enthält auch das Sonnenlicht Ultraviolett und dieses wirkt, wie sichtbares Licht, nur an der Oberfläche. Deshalb wird es auch als “weiche” Strahlung bezeichnet. Im Gegensatz dazu stehen sehr viele kurzwelligere Strahler (unter 100 nm), so z.B. “harte” Röntgen- und Gammastrahlen. “Hart”, weil sie feste Materie durchdringen und schwere Schädigungen im menschlichen Organismus auslösen können. Mit Ultraviolett ist das unmöglich. Aus diesem Grund kann es weder Verwechslungen noch Vergleiche geben.

Was ist die UV-Dosis bzw. Bestrahlungsdosis?

Jede UV-Strahlenquelle hat eine elektrische Leistungsaufnahme, von der ein Teil im UV-C Bereich emittiert wird. Die im UV-C Bereich emittierte Strahlung wird zu 90% bei 254 nm erzeugt, der für die Entkeimung wirksamen Wellenlänge. Diese wird als Strahlungsleistung bezeichnet. Die Strahlungsleistung ist also die Energie, die pro Zeiteinheit vom Strahler abgestrahlt wird.

Die Bestrahlungsstärke oder auch Intensität gennannt (µW oder mW) ist die pro Flächeneinheit (cm²) auftreffende Strahlungsleistung. Für ihre Höhe entscheidend ist die optimale Ausnutzung des im Gerät eingebauten Strahlers sowie der Abstand zur zu entkeimenden Sache.

Multipliziert man die Bestrahlungsstärke/Intensität mit der Zeit (s), so ergibt sich die UV-Dosis / Bestrahlungsdosis: UV-Dosis (mWs/cm²) = Intensität (mW/cm²) x Zeit (s)

Je höher die Strahlungsleistung und je länger die Bestrahlungszeit, desto größer die desinfizierende Wirkung.

Was ist die Letaldosis?

Für nahezu alle Mikroorganismen ist die “tödliche Dosis” an UV-C Strahlung bekannt, ab der die Zelle die Reproduktionseigenschaft verliert, inaktiviert wird und keine Selbstreparatur-Mechanismen aktiviert werden können. Aufgrund der Zellstruktur ist die Letaldosis ist unterschiedlich hoch. Pathogene Keime und Hefen sind äußerst empfindlich gegenüber UV-C. Manche Schimmelpilzsporen benötigen eine höhere UV-Dosis. Dies ist erforderlichenfalls bei der Auslegung zu berücksichtigen.

Die Grundlage der UV-Entkeimung ist die Auslegung des Entkeimungsgerätes bzw. die Auswahl der geeigneten Strahlenquelle. Am Ende der Strahlerlebensdauer muß eine ausreichend hohe UV-Dosis vorhanden sein um in der definierten Bestrahlungszeit eine entsprechende Entkeimungsleistung sicherzustellen. Die Letaldosis ist je nach Miroorganismus und Zellstruktur / Zelltyp unterschiedlich hoch. Pathogene Keime sind sehr empfindlich gegenüber UV-C und werden sehr schnell inaktiviert. Schimmelpilzsporen brauchen eine höhere UV-Dosis. In der Praxis wird z.B. bei Siegelfolien für Joghurtbecher innerhalb von 2 Sekunden eine Keimreduktion von 99,5 % bis 99,9 % erzielt (siehe Fraunhofer Prüfbericht für BlueLight Module).

Sicherheitshinweise zum Umgang mit UV-Strahlung

UV-Strahlung ist hochwirksam und erfordert einfache und unkomplizierte Maßnahmen für den Personenschutz. So einfach und unkompliziert diese auch sind, es ist wichtig, diese einzuhalten. Ob und welche Maßnahmen bei Ihrer Anwendung bzw. bei Ihrem Aufbau erforderlich sind, erklären wir Ihnen gerne ausführlich im Detail.

Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

 

 
Beschreibung Information
UV-Strahlung UV-Strahlung ist gefährlich für Augen und Haut. UV-Strahlenquellen dürfen daher nur unter entsprechenden Personenschutzmaßnahmen betrieben werden. Dies gilt nicht, wenn es sich im geschlossenen Geräte handelt aus denen keine UV-Strahlung austreten kann (Wasserentkeimungssysteme, Luftentkeimungssysteme auf Umluft Basis, etc.).
Schutz vor UV UV-Strahlung bei 254 nm (UV-C) ist abschirmbar durch normales Fensterglas (Borosilikat, Duran, etc.), transparenten Kunststoff wie Makrolon®, Plexiglas® und praktisch alle undurchsichtigen Materialien. Um die ggf. entstehende störende Blendwirkung zu verringern empfiehlt sich die Verwendung von eingefärbtem Material. Weitere Informationen über UV-Filter können der Norm „EN 170 – Persönlicher Augenschutz“ entnommen werden. Quarzglas ist durchlässig für UV-C Strahlung und darf nicht als Schutzglas zum Personenschutz verwendet werden.
Installation / Betrieb Wechselschaltungen, Hinweisschilder bzw. Zwangsabschaltungen sind jeweilig auf Verantwortung und nach Ermessen des Betreibers anzubringen. Werden Einzelkomponenten zur Integration in Anlagen und Geräte bzw. Musterlieferungen in Betrieb gesetzt, so obliegt es dem Betreiber, die einschlägigen elektrotechnischen Vorschriften zu beachten. Nur eingewiesenes Fachpersonal mit entsprechender Ausbildung sollte die Komponenten in Betrieb nehmen.
Materialbeständigkeit Gegenstände können sich nach langer und intensiver UV-Bestrahlung verfärben. Wir empfehlen die Verwendung von UV-beständigen Materialien. Bei der Verwendung von ozonbildenden Strahlenquellen ist zu beachten, dass Ozon eine stark oxidative Wirkung hat.
Ozonbildung Bei der Verwendung von Ozon bildenden UV-Strahlenquellen muss der MAK-Wert (MAK = Maximale Arbeitsplatzkonzentration) vom 0,1 ppm eingehalten werden. Bei Versuchs-aufbauten empfiehlt es sich, einen geeigneten Bereich mit Luftabzug zu verwenden.
Temperatur Niederdruckstrahler weisen im Betrieb eine Leuchtrohrtemperatur von ca. 40°C auf, ähnlich einer Leuchtstofflampe in der beleuchtungstechnik. UV-Strahlenquellen mit Indium-Amalgam Dotierung werden an der Leuchtrohroberfläche ca. 90°C-100°C heiß (Mitteldruckstrahlenquellen ca. 850°C-950°C). Diese Strahlenquellen sind als potenzielle Zündquellen bei Kontakt mit leicht entzündlichen Stoffen zu betrachten. Weiterhin muss die Strahlenquelle ausreichend abkühlen bevor Sie angefasst wird. Um das durchzünden der Strahlenquelle nach dem Abschalten sicherzustellen, sollten Indium-Amalgam dotierte Strahler ca. 2-5 Minuten abkühlen (Mitteldruckstrahler ca. 5-15 Minuten). Ein Abkühlen bei einfachen Niederdruckstrahlern ist nicht erforderlich.

 

Anwendungsübersicht

Anwendungsbereich        Beispielapplikationen
UV-Härtung
(von lösemittelfreien Farben, Lacken, Klebstoffen und Vergussmassen)
  • Möbelindustrie (Stühle, Tische, Küchenschränke), Türenherstellung, Skiherstellung
  • Druckindustrie (besonders im Offset- und Siebdruck, aber auch allen anderen Druckverfahren):
    z. B., Zeitschriften, Etiketten, Verpackungsdruck
  • Druck von Geldscheinen
  • Produktion von CD und DVD (Schutzlack und Verkleben der DVD, Bedruckung)
  • Elektroindustrie: z. B. Leiterplattenherstellung
  • Leiterplattenbestückung (Klebstoffhärtung)
  • Reparatur von Steinschlag in Autoscheiben (Härten von Kunstharz)
UV-Desinfektion
(von Luft, Wasser und Oberflächen)
  • Trinkwasser: z. B. Brauereien, Getränkehersteller, Trinkwasserentkeimung in Haushalten, Pensionen und Hotels, kommunale Trinkwasseraufbereitung
  • Prozesswasser: Kühlwasserkreisläufe, Prozesswasserkreisläufe, Tiefbrunnen-Entnahme, Algenbekämpfung von Fischteichen
  • Abwasser: Abwasserentkeimung in Kläranlagen
  • Luftentkeimung: (in Krankenhäusern, Kontrollmessungen zur Reduzierung von Infektionen durch Luftübertragung von bakteriellen Krankheitserregern innerhalb bewohnter Gebiete)
  • Entkeimung von Packstoffen vor Befüllung (z. B. Joghurtbecher, Siegelfolien, in der Medizinindustrie)
  • Insektenfallen
  • Produktschleusen in der Medizintechnik und Lebensmittelindustrie
UV-unterstützte Oxidation
(von organischen Schadstoffen in Luft und Wasser)
  • Zerlegung der C-H-Verbindungen in Grundbestandteile, dann Bildung von H2O + CO2 + Salze mit Ozon)
  • kontaminiertes Grundwasser (Tankstellen, Bodensanierung von Militärgebieten, Munitionsfabriken, Kohleveredelung, Gaswerke)
  • Deponiesickerwasser (mit Ozon)
  • verschmutztes Industrieabwasser (Metallbe- und -verarbeitende Industrie, Farbstoffe der Textilveredelungsindustrie, Kosmetikindustrie, pharmazeutische Industrie, chemische
  • Industrie, Elektroindustrie, Kohleveredelung, Munitionsfabriken, Autowaschanlagen, AKW, Papier-/Zellstoffherstellung, Lederindustrie, Wäschereien)
  • Geruchsbeseitigung
Sonnensimulation
(zur künstlichen Alterung von Materialien aus Sicherheits- und ästhetischen Gründen)
  • kontrollierte Holzalterung (Geigen- und Gitarrenbau, Möbelindustrie)
  • Test der Windschutzscheiben von Kraftfahrzeugen und Flugzeugen
  • Untersuchung des Abbaueffektes von Baumaterialien
  • Tests von Kunststoffen in der Automobilindustrie und für viele andere Anwendungen
  • oxidativer Abbau von Pflanzenschutzmitteln
  • Umwandlung verschiedener ökologisch bedenklicher Wasser- und Abwasserinhaltsstoffe in ökologisch unbedenkliche und biologisch abbaubare Stoffe
Präperative Photochemie
  • Herstellung von Waschmittel-Grundstoffen, künstlichen Duftstoffen usw.
  • Vitamin-D-Synthese
  • Polymerisationen
  • Photobromierung
  • Photochlorierung
  • Photooxidation
UV-Analytik  
Ozonerzeugung
  • Oberflächenmodifizierung von Kunststoffen und Gummiprodukten (Erhöhung der Oberflächenspannung oder Beschaffenheit
  • Abwasser- und Abluftbehandlung
  • Fettabbau in Küchenabluftsystemen
  • Geruchsbeseitigung / Desodorierung
Medizinische Anwendung / Lichttherapie
  • Behandlung von Vitamin D3-Mangelerscheinungen
  • Behandlung von Psoriasis (Schuppenflechte)
  • Behandlung von Gelbsucht von Säuglingen
  • Identifizieren von Krebszellen in inneren Organen
  • Kosmetische Bräunung
Lumineszenzanregung
  • Echtheitsprüfungen von Banknoten und Briefmarken
  • Anwendungen in Postsortiermaschinen
  • Effektlicht
  • Qualitätskontrolle (Haarrisse können mit Schwarzlicht sichtbar gemacht werden, z. B. in Flugzeugfahrgestellen, automatischen Lenksystemen)
  • forensische Wissenschaften (Suche nach wichtigen Beweisen am Tatort, Suche nach Brandursachen)
  • in Auktionshäusern (Prüfung von Kunstwerken auf Echtheit)
  • Biotechnologie
  • Geologie (Prüfung der Posphoreszenz und der Fluoreszenz)